Log: Week 2

Posted: February 26, 2008 in Weekly Log

Week 2 Interactive Project

Jan 21 – Jan 27

We talked about his characters and Luke then asked me if, as part of my work for him, I would like to design some characters for him. I jumped at the chance. Oh to pick up a pen again would be such fun. At least I thought so at the time, with hindsight I might think differently.

We discussed and looked at styles of artwork and film previously used for the Terry Pratchett Discworld and Characters.  It was at this point when I asked what style he would like them in, that it became apparent that we would need to do some serious research into artists and illustrators of the printed page which I could show him, and the type of digital art so predominant on the web, which Luke could introduce me to. I noticed he had a book of Gustav Dore’s illustrations for the Divine Comedy and this led to a further discussion of some of the world’s best artist and illustrators past and present and the state of our art education. I don’t mind admitting I am appalled by the seeming lack of artistic historical knowledge being taught to our young people, particularly in the design education field. We decided that it would be a good idea to go and visit some art galleries to see some of these beautiful and fantastic images in the flesh, so to speak. I mentioned a few of my experiences with the work of the Pre-Raphaelites when I actually stood in front of them for the first time.

I have also been frequenting SecondLife to price up land, costumes and props again just to make sure I had it right. I think I did. My findings confirmed that my original budget plan is correct. I am also getting around in SecondLife and chatting to people just to get me into the swing of things. I found and joined the Machinima list in the Groups on the SecondLife Website and I have been looking through the Machinima forums trying to gauge who does what, and how and who seems to know what they are doing, for future reference.

There is a particular guy, Cecil Hirvi, who make ‘Borg Films’. Not sure I would make these futuristic films but then you never know. He seems quite well respected though and has lots of his SecondLife films on YouTube.com.

Comments
  1. […] land, costumes and props again just to make sure I had it right. I think I did…. source: Log: Week 2, My 2nd […]

Leave a Reply

